My first injury

10 Mar

 

 

Well, it’s official. I have IT Band Syndrome.

itb

Last week when I got home from 7 miles my knee hurt. I iced and stretched and it lingered for about 2 days. Saturday I went out for 4 miles of intervals and my knee started hurting at about 3 and a half. Knowing I needed to turn around and do 9 miles today I came home, stretched, iced, took Ibuprofen. Alas, today it’s still pretty painful. I think headed out on a 9 mile run today I’d regret it.

I’m not good with pain or injury. I’m actually quite a baby about it.  My plan to get better this week:

  • Ibuprofen for 5 days
  • Stretch hips, hams, quads, IT band 2x/day
  • Glute medius, VMO, and core strength daily
  • Use foam roller and the stick on IT bands 2x/day

Workouts for this week:

Monday: Arms

Tuesday/Thursday: Core

Thursday: forego leg workout for hip and leg rehab

Friday/Sunday: 4 miles intervals

Saturday: 9 mile jog

I’m still pretty slow, but I’ll worry about speed when the half marathon is over.  My interval day I averaged 13:32/mile. That’s about the best average I’ve had. Not bad, despite the injury.

3 Responses to “My first injury”

  1. Jenny March 10, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

    ughhhh ITB syndrome is the WORST! Be sure you have good shoes (not too much mileage on them), see if you know someone who is a PT or AT or MD who can check you for a leg length, and be sure to run on flat surfaces. Running on angled roads/paths can cause it!

    Good luck!

    • gshipman March 10, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

      Thanks, I’m an AT and work in clinic, I’m sure I can find someone!

      • Jenny March 10, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

        Yes yes yes that’s right! I just forgot!

        As an AT myself, it’s so hard to treat ‘me’ when I’m hurting. I have some ITB issues going on right now too but don’t wanna do what I need to in order to get better! 🙂

        Guess knowledge can be a bad thing sometimes??? 😉

Leave a Reply

