Pretty OK

3 Mar

That’s how I would describe this week. “Pretty Ok”. How much more mediocre could we get, eh?

BeFunky_madmen.jpg

Workouts:

  • Monday: Core
  • Tuesday: Arms
  • Wednesday: Core
  • Thursday: Legs
  • Friday:Nothing (was supposed to be 4 miles of intervals)
  • Saturday: I was pumped for my 9 miles. I got all ready, bundled up, and on my way to the trail it started snowing. SNOWING…I said eff this, and went back home. I ended up doing 3 rounds of tabata workouts for a total of 15 minutes. It was work during. Afterward I felt like I hadn’t done much at all, but Sunday morning I was actually a little sore.  So yay for Tabata.  I’ll have to revisit that.
  • Sunday: Intention: 9 miles. Actual: 7 miles. After 5 miles my phone/music died. My left knee hurt (ITB), my right 2nd toe hurt (it has this weird callus at the tip and it hurts, it’s weird), and I was cold cold cooooold to the bone. So cold it hurt.  I’m such a wimp, I swear.

I’m pretty pleased with my workouts overall. I need to get my ass in gear on my 2 interval days/week. My long days have been getting slower and slower and slower.  Many of you could walk as fast (or faster) than I “run” sometimes. I try not to focus on speed, but seriously, I’m getting ridiculously slow.

My biggest problem is that I’m hungry. Oh so hungry. I don’t necessarily crave bad food, I just want more food.  Copious amounts of food.  I wasn’t really prepared for that this week so I ended up snacking a little too much on whatever was on hand. That’s not good in my line of work because patients love to bring in junkfood ( and so do my coworkers). There’s always chips, crackers, cake, cookies, chocolates. My brace rep brought me my own package of king size reeses this week. WTF dude? You are not helping!

Anyway, ways I’ll do better this week:

  • 2 tabata workouts at 5:30am. My schedule is kind of screwed this week but I think I’ll keep them on Tuesday/Thursday.
  • 2 core workouts on Monday/Wednesday
  • 2 4-mile interval runs on Friday/Saturday
  • Sunday long run: 9 miles ( I already dread it)
  • Bring more snacks to work

Also, funny story, last week I was trying to do my interval runs on the treadmill in the fitness room of my complex.  The damn thing just shut off twice  in the middle of sprint intervals.  I damn near went over the front rail…twice!  I might have to look at getting a gym membership. I just hate to. I’ll only be using it maybe twice a week when the weather sucks or I get around to it too late to go outside.  I do have a planet fitness close by, though. I hear they’re only $10/month.

Own that workout, Brad Pitt!

Own that workout, Brad Pitt!

Leave a Reply

