Nearly Derailed

23 Feb

koolaid

I’m about to bust through this weight plateau like a boss! I’ve lost 30lbs and can’t move forward, but honestly, I haven’t been as strict on my diet. A little slip up here and there, something you might fall into in your maintenance zone, but I’m not there yet and can’t really afford to be so passive about my diet.

I haven’t really talked about my goals for the year except to say I want to be down 50lbs by the end of the year. Large, long term goals tend to get lost when you don’t have small manageable steps to work towards them with.  I have my small steps mapped out pretty well. My first hurdle is that I want to be under 200 by my little brother’s graduation on May 11th. Since I haven’t lost anything in January or February, that means I have 18lbs to lose between now and then. Time to get serious. This week I’m doing a pseudo-cleanse.  I say “pseudo” because I don’t really like the connotation that comes with doing a cleanse or detox these days. Most of them tend to be really unhealthy and unrealistic.  I mean, yes, you’ll lose weight if drink nothing but lemon juice for a week, but that’s not healthy and that weight loss can’t be maintained.  When I do a cleanse, it’s simply a time to get all the shit back out of my diet. I also try to eat things that will be easy on my system to digest. I add in things that are healthy for liver and organ detox such as warm lemon water in the morning and apple cider vinegar with water at midday. Here’s a sample menu of one day:

  • At first light: Warm water or green tea with a squeeze of lemon
  • Breakfast Smoothie
  • Snack: mixed nuts and seeds with tea or Apple Cider Vinegar Beverage
  • Lunch: Curried Cauliflower soup (and a fresh veg salad if needed)
  • Snack: Orange with tea or Apple Cider Vinegar Beverage
  • Dinner: Wild Rice with Sauteed Vegs
  • Drink copious amounts of water, at least 2 quarts a day.

The philosophy behind this cleanse is low glycemic index, soups/smoothies that are pureed and easy to digest, and getting adequate nutrition. This has worked for me in the past of breaking weight loss plateaus and also getting over cravings for junk and carbs.

Workouts have been ok, but I’m not doing enough. I’ve been slacking on my weekday workouts which are only strength training and core. Honestly it takes between 15 and 30 minutes to complete and there’s no excuse for not getting it done. It’s probably smarter to get up and do it first thing in the morning, which I am contemplating.  Not being a morning person is extremely prohibitive! I’m pretty consistent in getting my long run in on the weekend, but I’ve been slacking a bit on my 2 short runs.  Also, those are supposed to be interval runs. I’ve just been jogging the whole thing. I think I could do better for myself if I stick to the intervals. So, goals for getting better on track:

  • 5:30am  Tuesday and Thursday Weight training
  • Monday and Wednesday core after or at work (these are my slow days at work)
  • Friday/Sunday Interval runs. Stick to the intervals. I’m not putting a time on these as the weather has been a bit unpredictable and I need to get them done when it’s most pleasant outside.
  • Saturday Long run.

With any luck, I’ll break my weight loss plateau this week and get under 218  and be on my way to being under 200 by May 11. It’s going to take a lot of discipline at this point because it’s essentially 2lbs lost/week.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

