Week 1 Half Marathon Training: In Review

13 Jan
My two months of couch-potato days are over!

My two months of couch-potato days are over!

I’ve got things moving in the right direction this week, here’s the damage:

Monday Arms:

  • High Rows 8# x20
  • Bicep Curls 8# x20
  • Tricep Press 16# x20
  • Push Press 8# x20
  • Pushups x20

Tuesday/Thursday Core from RandomAbs.com

Wednesday: A missed leg workout

Friday: A missed run

Saturday: 1.83 miles. I stuck to the 3/2 Jog/Walk program of my half marathon training. It was hilly and it sucked.

Sunday: 3.66 miles in the park. My average time was 14:22 with my fastest mile being 13:27. I don’t mind the time, but it’s nice to track it. My legs and ankles hurt, I hate that I’m starting over, but it is better than when I started out initially.

Next week, same plan, just no missed workouts this time. I met a wonderful lady in the laundry room this weekend who would like to workout together.  I’m concerned about that prospect. I love inspiring others to get going, but I don’t want to be held back. I will stay optimistic about it though.

You can’t even imagine the delicious food that’s been prepared in this house today: Tamales, Pad Thai, Scrambled tofu, Sauteed Kale, Brussells Sprouts, Roasted Carrots, Jamaican Peas and Rice, two kinds of rice,  yellow lentil daal, Apple Pie Quinoa, Peach Pie Quinoa. All vegan and gluten free, we having a feast around the world this week. I can’t wait to get started!

2 Responses to “Week 1 Half Marathon Training: In Review”

  1. shannon January 13, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

    Food sounds awesome! Good luck this week. I have GOT to start my strength training!! That’s my goal this week! 🙂

    • gshipman January 14, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

      Since running is my goal, I’ve simplified my weight lifting. I have the 40lb sandbags at home and that’s the most I do and I just up the reps as needed. I kind of dig working out without a gym.

Leave a Reply

