Back on the Wagon

10 Nov

I feel kind of out of control right now, I have to settle down back into a routine. I am spending my 3-day weekend at home cleaning and preparing, this always gives me back my sense of order (I embrace my crazy, I really do!). Monday I am back on my exercise plan, no excuses allowed!

 

Here’s what’s been going on:

Underwent a number of “wellness” tests for: Thyroid, Cortisol (stress hormone levels), Imbalances in GI tract (absorption, parasites, etc…), Vitamin D and B12, and Food Sensitivities. These are all underlying things that can contribute to inability to lose weight. So far, my T3 levels for my Thyroid were in the low end of normal so I am taking Armour Thyroid for a month to see what happens.  This is because I have a number of under-active thyroid symptoms including inability to lose weight (or it’s difficult at least), losing hair, and fatigue. Also, my vitamin D levels were  a little low, so I am supplementing with mycelized vitamin D for a month and then retesting the thyroid and vitamin D. I will get the results of the rest of the tests at that visit.

While we’re on the subject, these are the supplements I take daily:

  • Micellized D3
  • Liquid B Complex (because I’m Vegetarian)
  • 2 Multivitiamins
  • 1 Osteomedica (bone health)
  • 1000mg Fish Oil (It’s good for everyone, but essential for vegetarians and I need to raise my cholesterol)
  • 2 Carb Blockers  (I take this for the White Bean Extract which is beneficial for gynecoid shapes trying to lose weight)
  • 2 Glucosamine and Chondroiton (Joint Health)
  • 1 Zinc (for vegetarians)
  • 1 cup of Red clover tea (Second supplement for gynecoid shapes)

The supplements I take from Numedica are Pharmaceutical grade and are the safest you can take.  These are held to the same standards as prescription medications in terms of purity.  Off the shelf supplements are not regulated by the FDA and are not necessarily held to high standards for purity. Many off the shelf brands have tested positive for impurities such as lead and trace metals.  I don’t think you have to get pharmaceutical grade supplements, but consider the source and make sure you purchase from a brand you trust.

This week’s menu:

Breakfast: Scrambled tofu with potato hash

Lunch/Dinner: Spicy Couscous (1), Barley and Mushrooms (1), Carrot and Parsnip Soup (1), Boxed Soup (2), Spaghetti Squash with Zucchini (2), TVP Tacos and Taco Salad (4), Roasted Tomato and Kale Pizza (3)

Snacks: Orange, Apples, Luna Lemon Zest Bars, Hummus with Nut Thins

On a positive note, despite my inactivity, I have been eating well.  I was going through withdrawals from not weighing myself for two weeks so I bought a home scale today and…I’ve lost two pounds 🙂  Oh happy day!

 

One Response to “Back on the Wagon”

  1. cestlavie22 November 10, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    Sounds like you have awesome plans to get on a healthy track! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

