1st Day

29 Oct

Today was my first day of the new job.  If I were to recount the events of the day it would be pretty boring, but I still loved it.  Tomorrow I get turned loose on patients and I have been stalking the medical histories of all of them all evening.

Image

Now for confessions: I didn’t get my cardio in.  Two reasons and both are excuses, and we all know excuses are like buttholes: everyone has one and they all stink (you can thank my high school basketball coach for that analogy).  At any rate, my two excuses: I got 4 hours of sleep last night and it’s freezing cold.  I need to locate the code for the fitness room door.  I have it here somewhere. I have committed to a pretty simple lifting program this week so I will double up tomorrow.  I cannot have a repeat of last month and I already know getting back into doing cardio is going to suck.  Time to get started!

And a little something fun, I can’t get enough of this song. Enjoy:

While we’re being random, I need to share my favorite breakfast right now.  I think I have shared it before, but seriously, get you some. You could do this with sweet potato too:

Pumpkin Parfait

Roasted Pumpkin

Pumpkin pie spice

Agave nectar

frozen banana

1/4-1/2 cup almond milk (or your preferred milk or milk substitute)

Walnuts

Pumpkin Seeds and Sunflower seeds (optional)

Roast your pumpkin in the oven until it’s soft.  Puree with pumpkin pie spice and agave nectar to taste. Put that to the side and clean out your food processor.

Slice up the frozen banana into food processor and turn on.  Add milk slowly until banana is smooth but still kind of thick. (this will be the exact consistency of soft serve ice cream.

In a small dish layer 2 tablespoons pumpkin, chopped walnuts, banana mixture. (I do pumpkin, walnuts, banana, pumpkin). Top with pumpkin and sunflower seeds or more walnut.  Enjoy.  It’s unreasonably good and filling!

Image

Leave a Reply

