Hilary Clinton

22 Oct
Hilary Clinton in the night of the midterm ele...

Hilary Clinton in the night of the midterm elections 2006 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“You may not agree with a woman, but to criticize her appearance — as opposed to her ideas or actions — isn’t doing anyone any favors, least of all you. Insulting a woman’s looks when they have nothing to do with the issue at hand implies a lack of comprehension on your part, an inability to engage in high-level thinking. You may think she’s ugly, but everyone else thinks you’re an idiot.” –Hilary Clinton

I simply love this quote by Hilary Clinton.  All she’s saying is “don’t judge a book by it’s cover.”  I have spent a good portion of my life being dragged down by others for one reason or another, often due to my appearance.  For two years in elementary school my mom had me in a school where the kids resorted to physical violence and I ended up with a broken foot for being “fat and ugly.”  Lucking, I was a pretty happy go lucky kid. I spent my time with my head in the clouds looking through rose colored glasses, and that saved me from a lot of heartache in those early years.  It still took me until I was well into my twenties to develop the confidence to feel beautiful despite what anyone else thought.  Even now I am often intimidated to try new things because I don’t fit the mold of the person who usually does that.  Right now I am trying to choose a new gym and I am SO intimidated by the prospects.  Not too long ago I was lifting weights in the gym I have worked out in for the past year and a half.  A personal trainer came up to me (mid rep) and stated he saw me in there a lot and if I would like to “actually start seeing some progress” I should give him a call.  Any trainers out there listening: this is not the way to get clients.  He almost got a swift kick in the….well anyway.  Don’t judge a book by it’s cover, don’t treat people according to their looks, and don’t assume that because I’m overweight that I am unhealthy.  In fact, I just had a physical, here are my stats:

Total Cholesterol: 100

Resting BP: 59

Fasting Blood sugar: 80

In fact, everything they tested for on 3 whole pages of blood work was well within normal range.  My doctor was shocked, she said I’m remarkably healthy.  I assume what she meant was, “you are remarkably healthy for a woman who’s BMI places you in an obese category.” Ya, I get it.  It’s important for me sometimes to focus on these things, to remind myself that it really is about being healthy, not looking a certain way.

Today’s work out: Walked 1.5 miles @3.5, 2 miles @4.0, and another 1.5 miles @ 3.5

I am frustrated I couldn’t run, but again, reminding myself this is really about weight loss, and I got 5 miles in today. That’s around 600 calories burned. I will take it.  My hip feels much, much better, I just don’t want a relapse so I am getting back into it slowly.

I am also undergoing a number of wellness tests with Optimum Health to test a number of things: Digestive, absorptive, and microbiological imbalances, Inflammatory imbalances, Detoxification and biotransformational imbalances, Immune imbalances, Hormonal imbalance and Vascular functioning.  We will call it a 27 year tune up.  I am a true believer in preventative medicine.  I mention it because the test I am doing tomorrow requires a few food restrictions: no caffeine, no garlic, no onions, no cruciferous vegetables.  As someone who’s mostly vegan, I get asked a lot about what I eat.  The answer is caffeine, garlic, onions and cruciferous vegetables!  I suppose I can survive 24 hours though.

Tomorrow is a 30 day Shred day.

5 Responses to “Hilary Clinton”

  1. ichoosetolivestronger October 22, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    People can be so cruel. Your numbers look good. BMI is a total crock. When I reach my goal weight of 165…they will still categorize me as obese. They leave out a lot of important info to reach such conclusions. As far as the trainer is concerned, that is horrible. I’ve found a good gym, but I still get looks from people. I ignore them…they don’t keep me from meeting goals. Stay strong…you’re worth it !

    • gshipman October 22, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

      Thanks so much! Your encouragement truly means a lot.

  2. Colleen October 22, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    love the quote – thanks for sharing. I know two people who are in the BMI of obese – both are CrossFitters and you would NEVER think that to look at them – it’s the muscle (dense!) that gets them into that category.
    Love your numbers – thanks for sharing, don’t forget the T4 & T3’s tests (and having an endocronologist vs. plain doc look at them – so many things go on with the thyroid that affect weight / energy levels and such).
    Finding a good gym is so tough … it’s one of the reasons I go to my CF ‘box’ – people of all sizes, ages, condition – all doing the same thing (modified/scaled) – it’s an encouraging place to be but I know not all CrossFit boxes are the same …

    • gshipman October 22, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      Thanks so much! Had a comprehensive thyroid panel last week, but didn’t consider the endocrinologist. Might have to look into it.

  3. Jenny October 23, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    Agreed with what the others are saying…. BMI is a total joke. I love this quote too, I’ve never heard it! Keep up the hard work. Healthy is what is important, BMI isn’t.

Leave a Reply

