Wake me up when October ends

21 Oct

This month has been bittersweet, but all in all, I’m done with it.  Ready to move on to bigger and better things.  Mostly because…I have a new job!  I’m so very excited to be working for Ankle of Foot Centers of Georgia  starting next week. Of course, nervous anticipation. I have to find a new gym.  My current one is a benefit of my current company and is by work, not by home.  I am actually pretty sad about that because I love Bodyplex Suwanee (that’s a shout out, check them out, tell your friends). Also, I will be working 4 10-hour shifts. So I just have a whole new schedule to get used to.  I’m nervous about how that will effect my workout habits, but I am hoping to stay on track.

Workouts are going to be sketchy this week thanks to the hip (bothering me again today), so I will focus on the food.

Workouts:

Monday/Wednesday/Friday: 30 minutes of cardio, not promising runs, but I have to get it in, despite this hip.

Wednesday/Thursday: Weight training.

Menu

Breakfasts: Pumpkin Parfait (see recipe below), Tofu a la Mexicana Breakfast Enchilada, Smoothies (I made one w/ sweet potato last week that was delicious!)

Lunch and Dinner: Roasted Carrot and Parsnip Soup (this stuff is soooo good…and I don’t even like carrots that much. I kind of feel weird about how much I like this soup), Spaghetti Squash Tomato Toss, Roasted Red Pepper Bisque. Then leftovers: Spicy Couscous, Barley and Mushrooms.

Snacks: Sweet and Spicy Cucumbers, Apples, Shakes, Hummus

Honestly, I am ready for this week to be over so I can say I have eaten all this delicious food. I kind of made a lot so this will probably be my menu for next week as well.

Pumpkin Parfait

Pumpkin Puree:

2 Cups roasted pumpkin pureed

1T Pumpkin Pie spice

1/4-1/2 cup almond milk

3 T Agave nectar (to taste)

2T Flax meal

Banana Ice Cream:

2 frozen bananas

enough almond milk to blend

Layer ingredients into a parfait dish, top with walnuts. Freeze extra portions, give 30 minutes or so to thaw before eating.

 

 

3 Responses to “Wake me up when October ends”

  1. ichoosetolivestronger October 21, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

    Congrats on your new position and good luck! Changes are tough.

  2. nancy@skinnykitchen.com October 22, 2012 at 2:33 am #

    Thanks so much for sharing my recipe, Low Carb Vegetarian Spaghetti Squash Tomato Toss. I’m so happy you enjoyed it!

    • gshipman October 22, 2012 at 7:03 am #

      You’re welcome! It’s very simple and clean, but most of all yummy! I love it.

Leave a Reply

