Wednesday’s Damage

4 Oct

Yesterday’s run was phenomenal!

45 minutes, 3.5 miles.  Farthest and fastest run EVER! And it felt great.  I was kind of amazed the whole time, waiting for it to hurt, but it was pretty ok for the whole distance.  I even sprinted at the end, which is unheard of. 

So on that same vein…I have a “friend” (I’m using that term lightly).  He’s a meat head, plain and simple.  But I asked him a specific question about weight lifting and he launched into a tirade about how I don’t need to lift, that’s not my problem, I just need to get my diet right.  “You eat too much sugar, too many carbs, and not enough protein.”  Hold on a second, buddy… First of all, I didn’t ask you to discuss my diet with me.  I’m vegan, trying to lose weight and get fit. You’re a meat head.  Our goals are not the same.  And I know plenty of meat heads (read: weight lifters, fitness competitions, weight lifting competitions etc…), I have had this conversation many times and here’s my take on it.  Our goals are not the same and yes, your meat head diet helps you meet your meat head goals, but it’s not healthy by a long friggin’ shot, so let’s not even go down this road together.  Secondly, you don’t have the first friggin’ clue what I eat!  We didn’t discuss diet, I didn’t give you a rundown of my intake.  You are looking at a “fat girl” and jumping to conclusions.  You can take those conclusions and shove them right up your….well anyway.  On to my point:

Why must we tear each other down?  Why can’t we just look at someone making positive changes for themselves and just lift them up instead of saying things like, “oh, you can only only do that, well I can do it this much better.”  It’s ridiculous.  Now this same person is trying to make snide comments to me and about me on facebook?  Dude, first of all you’re a 40 year old man.  You have the body of a god, of course I’m not competing with you, but I also don’t need all your mouth.  It’s lame and pathetic of you to even make a comment about me, my fitness, and my body.  I hope you feel better about yourself knowing that you can run a mile faster than me.  Congrats, you go boy.  Ugh.

That being said, thank you all for your support this far in my journey.  This blog has really been an uplifting experience and I really appreciate all of you. 

5 Responses to “Wednesday’s Damage”

  1. shannon October 4, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    What’s the use of having a “body like a god” when you’re an asshole?! Oh, yeah, you can pick up on women who are as equally shallow and worthless. Do I know your friend? No, but I think we all know people like him. Keep doing a great job. You are your only competition!

    • gshipman October 4, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

      You don’t know him, but you know of him. Reference the FB convo. It’s just frustrating, I needed to vent anonymously!

  2. uberbeastmode October 4, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Ugh, I hate that people like this make us weight lifters who aren’t d-nozzles look bad. If you have any questions about lifting feel free to ask me. I promise I won’t go all meathead on you. 🙂 I find it really strange that a meathead would tell you that you don’t need to lift too. Oh well don’t let that bother you, you worry about your goals!

    • gshipman October 4, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

      yes, and I’m aware that all weight lifters are not meat heads, but I had to get this out of my system! Thanks, I will hit you up about weight lifting for sure!

  3. buffbodyandskinnyjeans October 4, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    I enjoyed reading this post bc I have been feeling the same way about people judging others by what their appearance. We should all be lifting each other up on this journey. It makes me think of my favorite quote by Plato “be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” Stay strong and keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

