Measuring up

29 Sep

That’s right, it’s been another month.  I would say this month has been less controlled that the past two.  I didn’t track my food, and quite honestly, I sucked on my weight training.  Those are my confessions, here are the results.

7/7/2012 8/4/2012 9/1/2012 9/29/2012
Weight 240 235 233 228

You’ll see that my start weight was 240, but in reality, I had gotten up to 248. I lost 8lbs in the 6 weeks before I started this blog.  What that means is that this is my first F-ya moment! 20lbs down!

Measurements 7/7/2012 8/4/2012 9/1/2012 9/29/2012
Chest 41.5″ 41.5″ 41″ 40.5″
Waist 37.25″ 37″ 36″ 35.75″
Hip 50″ 49.75″ 49.5″ 48.75″
Thigh 29″ 27.5″ 27″ 26.5″
Calf 17″ 17″ 16.5″
Arm 16″ 15.5″ 16″ 16″

These results are great, I’m happy to have them, but I could have done better from a diet standpoint.  Imagine how much better!  Continuous improvement, that’s what this process is all about!

In the theme of focusing on how far you’ve come instead of how far you have to go, here are some of my accomplishments so far (besides weight loss):

  • Ability to run for 40 minutes straight
  • Ability to run a 5K
  • Clothes are starting to look sloppy
  • Recruited at least one friend to start working out more regularly
  • Started eating and cooking vegan at home (i don’t follow it strictly if I go out yet)

October Goals:

  • Lose 5lbs
  • Finish 1 hour run
  • 2 runs/week for time, increasing 10%/week. (Monday and Wednesday)
  • 1 run/week working on intervals to increase time, 30 minutes in duration. (Friday)
  • Weight training twice per week. (Tuesday and Thursday)
  • Core on the weekends.
  • Track calories.
  • No foods with a glycemic index higher than 50.
  • Three meals and two snacks.

Ways I can do better next month:

  • Track workout and food daily
  • Update daily (Get ready for a lot of readin’!)
  • Plan for the week ahead of time
  • No alcohol
  • Set alarm for 6am everyday (I can’t promise I will get up at 6, working on that!)
  • Pack gym bag the night before, before I do anything else, as soon as I walk in the house.
  • Read two books about calmness and inner peace (stress relief)
  • Morning yoga (it only takes 15 minutes, Gina, get yer butt up!!)
  • Register for my first real 5K

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Measuring up”

  1. CC September 29, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    Woo Hoo!! Congrats!!
    How are the pull ups coming? really curious about that!!

    • gshipman September 29, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

      I cannot do unassisted pull ups! I am getting stronger, but that specific movement is still escaping me. It was my intention to focus on lower weight, higher rep exercises this month, which I only sort of did. Still yet, I really liked the pull up workout. I did get a lot stronger while following it and I will go back to a version of it this month.

  2. shannon October 1, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    I’m wanting to start getting up at 6, too. Think we should have a text/wake-up call thing going on? 🙂

    • gshipman October 1, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

      Jillan michaels 30 day shred is on youtube. Only 20 minutes in the morning, but im already sore on day 2!

Leave a Reply

