Moving Forward

18 Sep

You ever have one of those days?  Of course you have, we all have.  Let me tell you about mine.  First of all it’s important that you know how much I love sleep.  I mean I LOOOOOOVE sleep. I work 10 hour days with an hour workout stuck in the middle so sleep is very important.  Last week I was starting to feel a bit under the weather and then Sunday night I couldn’t sleep.  I tossed and turned for an hour and a half without much luck.  My right SI joint was aching and I couldn’t get comfortable.  I looked at the clock, it’s midnight.  Shit just got real.  No ma’am, I will not stay awake any longer, time to take an Aleve.  As I sort through the medicine cabinet, I happen upon some Nyquil from my last cold. Perfecto, I down two pills, lie down on a heating pad, I’m asleep in like 20 minutes flat.  My alarm went off at 6am, my eyes open, and my brain does not turn on.  I can’t describe the type of fog I was in, I have never experienced that before, but I will never take another nyquil.  The fog didn’t lift until around 10am and two cups of coffee and then I realized I didn’t bring my gym bag 😦  So I say all of that to say…I missed a workout yesterday.  It was raining by time I got home so I couldn’t run then either.  I will make it up though. 

So…I am quickly approaching what I affectionately call a “F-ya moment”.  It occurred to me that these are things I have in my head that I haven’t shared.  A F-ya moment is when I accomplish a mile marker along my journey that isn’t necessarily a goal, just a step towards my goals.  Moments when it occurs to me how much I have accomplished and it motivates me to push a little harder.  So here, in random order, are what I currently consider my F-ya moments

  • Every 20lbs of weight loss (F-ya)
  • When I’m able to run for a full hour (F-ya)
  • When the guys in the gym tell me how good I’m looking (F-ya) (this has happened, they are awesome, and every time they say something I think “F-ya”)
  • Every time I crave a workout (F-ya)
  • Every time I convince someone to join me for something (F-ya)
  • Getting under 200lbs (for the first time as an adult) (F-YA!)

That’s it for now. 

I did some reflecting while lying awake in my bed and was thinking a little bit about goals.  Everytime I have set out to accomplish something big there seems to be things I think I can accomplish, and things that seem a little too far out of reach.  For example, I was the first in my family to go to college.  When I first started out I thought going to college was a huge accomplishment, and just going and getting through was about all I could muster.  Sometime during the course of my education I felt like graduating with honors and going to grad school was suddently attainable when it hadn’t been in the past.  (was THAT an F-ya moment?  hmmm….)

Anyway, when I first started out, I only really wanted to run a 5K.  A direct quote from my mouth “I would never want to run more than a 5K.”  And even my weight loss goals (180lbs, 68lbs of weight loss) seemed doable, but just a very far off goal.  Now it seems perfectly reasonable to me that  I can run for an hour straight, finish a 10K and even in the deepest, darkest places in my mind….a half marathon?  F-ya I can do that.  Why not?  All goals seem too lofty until you start closing in on them because no, today I cannot go out and run 13 miles…but why not within the year?  All I have to do is get another step closer everyday. 

So motivated. So proud. I hope you guys take a step closer to your goals today. I know I will!

One Response to “Moving Forward”

  1. uberbeastmode September 18, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    LOL Looking forward to your F-Ya moments! This is how it all starts, with little things. Pretty soon you start to see all the changes and you want more and it grows into bigger and better things. Before you know it you’re addicted and it takes over your life, in a good way! Stay motivated!

Leave a Reply

