Nature and Confessions

16 Sep

Friday was an off day because we went hiking Saturday instead.  We had a nice time, but it was a strenuous 3 mile hike.  Surprisingly, my wiener dogs, short as they are, kept pace quite well and really loved it.

Truth is….I have been pretty bad these past two weeks.  As I have detailed before, I’m a stress eater and work has been nothing but stress.  With stress comes cravings.  I have been eating bread and pizza and even pasta this week.  Yikes!  I will not meet my goals this way.  I have some calmness and clarity regarding my work situation, starting some meditation to help with that and if all else fails I will speak to my doctor about my anxiety.  I have a pretty good handle on it, I can recognize it when it’s there for what it is, but I cannot make it go away by myself. That’s what leads to the cravings and the eating!

This week I will use the Apple Cider Detox drink not as a detox, but as a blood sugar stabilizer.  I don’t know if it works like it says it does, but I promise, after taking a few swigs of Apple Cider Vinegar, Water, Cinnamon, and Lime Juice, you won’t feel like eating anymore!

The good news is that I didn’t skip a workout, despite my unhealthy eating.  After spending a week lifting like a girl (low weight, high rep, little rest time) I have decided that I prefer to lift like a man (higher weight, lower rep, more rest time).  I like feeling like I’m gaining muscle.  My workout goals are as follows:

Monday, Wednesday, Friday: Running 36 minutes straight, preferably at the park.

Tuesday, Thursday: Lifting in the gym (details to follow daily)

Saturday: Home circuit workout

My menu this week is all about cleaning out the pantry and refrigerator, and I did a pretty freakin’ good job.

Breakfast:

  • Steel cut oats w/ Fruit, Flax, Wheat Germ, and maybe even some peanut butter(3)
  • Applie Pie Quinoa Cereal (1)
  • Scrambled Tofu w/ potatoes (3)

Lunch and Dinner

  • Salad w/ NS option (3)
  • Pulled Mushroom BBQ Sammich w/ Coleslaw made w/ Vegan mayo from last week (1)
  • Couscous salad (adapted from this recipe, but I will post mine) w/ Black beans (3)
  • Lentil Taco Bowl (2)
  • Soup and Salad (1)
  • Nino Envuelto (3)
  • Leftover Indian w/ Rice (1)

Snacks:

This is what the fridge looks like now:

Everything neatly parceled and awaiting consumption, breakfasts and snacks on top, lunch and dinner in the middle.  I have effectively used every morsel in my refrigerator.  If it’s not empty by the end of the week that means I didn’t stick to the plan.

And just for good measure, one more picture from the hike.

Ella and her best friend, Chunk, enjoying the hike.

3 Responses to “Nature and Confessions”

  1. Kari September 17, 2012 at 5:40 am #

    aw sweet dogs! 🙂 looks like you all had a great hike! You are ready for the week to begin..great planning..have a good one and stay motivated!

  2. CultFit September 18, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Maybe more peanut butter? There’s always room for more of that good stuff. 😉

    • gshipman September 18, 2012 at 11:44 am #

      you ain’t lying. I love PB. I get it freshly ground from the farmers market. Heaven.

Leave a Reply

