August is over?!

1 Sep

Yes, I have been notably absent, here’s the update:

  • Wednesday: Skipped workout.  It was necessary on an emotional level.
  • Thursday: Cardio, 26 minutes, 2.26 miles
  • Friday: Arms and Legs workout.

What I have learned this month:

  1. When you aren’t eating animal products, all of your food is really low calorie so you can pretty much eat constantly (me likely).
  2. While I understand and respect the merits of a vegan diet, I’m not ready for it 24/7.
  3. How to gain muscle like WHOA!
  4. Cardio day has become my preferred workout day over weights (see above)
  5. Turning on the treadmill  or arriving at the trail head is the hardest part of the run, once I’ve made it that far, I’m going to finish.
  6. From reading: “newbie” runners should focus on time running, not distance.
  7. I am a stress eater/craver. Everything emotional makes me want food in large quantity.
  8. My cravings are mostly for good foods now, instead of bad. (Hooray)

Goals for next month:

  1. Lose another 5 lbs
  2. Be able to finish a 5K, no stops, regardless of time.
  3. 1300 Calories a day
  4. Avoid high fat foods like cheese! These are only allowed once a week. (But I am letting go of the vegan dream for now)
  5. Add legs to arms day (I didn’t do so well with this one)
  6. Add abs to cardio day, start with abs. (I will be using my workout trainer app for weight training and abs)
  7. Don’t miss  a workout.
  8. Stick to the menu plan
  9. Starting at 30 minute, increase run time by 10% each week this month
  10. Sunday, Tuesday, Thursday are run days.  Monday, Wednesday, Friday are weight training days.

I don’t have my menu set yet, so that will come later, but here’s my monthly report:

Weight:

7/7/2012 8/4/2012 9/1/2012
Weight 240 235 233

Measurements:

Measurements 7/7/2012 8/4/2012 9/1/2012
Chest 41.5″ 41.5″ 41″
Waist 37.25″ 37″ 36″
Hip 50″ 49.75″ 49.5″
Thigh 29″ 27.5″ 27″
Calf 17″ 17″
Arm 16″ 15.5″ 16″

I’m pretty pleased with these results, although I didn’t meet my weight goals, umm…and entire inch of my waist?!  I had to measure 5 times to be sure.  Also, seeing anything come off my hips is pretty astounding to me.  That’s what I would dub my “problem area”  go me!

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “August is over?!”

  1. CC September 1, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    I hope you are proud of yourself – way to go!! and that scale doesn’t count in my book — with all of the workouts you’ve been doing, I totally understand those inch loses! you’ve exchanged the fat for muscle — and so you may not have lost the weight numbers you wanted for the month but you got muscle in exchange — and as we all know, muscle takes up 1/3 the space of fat (pound for pound) … so I wouldn’t be surprised to see similar numbers next week. Great job!

    • gshipman September 2, 2012 at 7:24 am #

      Thank you so much, the support and encouragement helps a lot!

  2. shannon September 1, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    Way to go! You should be really proud of your accomplishments!

    • gshipman September 2, 2012 at 7:25 am #

      Thank you shannon, it really helps to have the support and accountability!

Leave a Reply

