1, 2, 3. 1, 2, 3. 1, 2, 3.

28 Aug

Do you know how many times you can count to three on a 30 minute jog?  600. I know because I forgot my ear buds today so I decided to focus on my breathing.  I read you should exhale to a count of 4 and inhale to a count of 4.  Well….i couldn’t do 4.  Either because I’m not used to it or because I run so slow, but I felt like I was hyperventilating.  So I did three.  In 2, 3, out 2, 3.  I don’t know if it helped or not.

I jogged 2 miles at 12:45 pace and walked .25.  in the end I averaged a 13 minute mile

Yesterday I did the Pull up workout for the day and the Best Butt Workout, but it didn’t seem worth reporting.  I’m anxious about Saturday’s weigh in.  I don’t know if I will hit my goals for this week, although I know I’m much stronger all in just a month’s time so I can’t be too mad at it.  I already have some ideas about adjustments and goals I want for next month.

Tonight, I’m having Vegan comfort food for dinner.  BBQ Tofu and vegan mac and cheese, because sometimes…you just need a little comfort food!  Eat your heart out.

3 Responses to “1, 2, 3. 1, 2, 3. 1, 2, 3.”

  1. shannon August 29, 2012 at 12:31 am #

    You’re weigh-in will be great! Just avoid the salt a day before! 😉 Way to go!!

  2. loseitbig August 29, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    I do the same thing when I forget my music, kind of. Count my steps to 10 then I hold out a finger, count again hold another finger. I have no clue what this does but makes time go by faster. I never remember how many fingers I have out by the time I am done. Also, I never even thought about breathing until I ran with my wife last weekend. She said she tries to breath in thru her nose and out her mouth. I run almost everyday and never thought about how to breath.

    • gshipman August 29, 2012 at 11:02 am #

      I thought about it only because I have a tendency to get nauseous at the end of a hard run. Its something to get used to, but I think it will help. I also practiced deep breathing in my car today. The article also said if you run out in cold weather you really need to breathe in through your nose.

Leave a Reply

