What are your goals?

11 Aug

Well, week end review.

I missed an arm workout and a mile of my last run.  It was my intention to make it up today, but as it turns out, getting your eyes dilated is much more bothersome than I expected.  Next week is another opportunity.

I have been thinking a lot about goals and goal-setting this week.  Its easy for me to lose sight of long term goals and how they relate to my daily decisions.  I have been trying to think about how each decision, each meal, each bite, each workout, will help me reach my ultimate (Long Term) goals:

  • 5K with a 10 minute mile

  • 180 lbs

Each month and week I set short term goals.  Achieving these goals should help me eventually arrive at my Long term goals.  I also have daily goals.  Maybe I don’t write them down or articulate them, but my daily goal is to always stick to the plan.  Some days it’s hard to do (this week it was hard to do), but having all of these goals to think about helps. I’m not reaching for something arbitrary or so far away I get distracted. It’s something real, it’s a 2 mile run, it’s a 1500 calorie limit, it’s an arm workout, it’s a menu plan.  And if I do it day in and day out, one day at a time, 180 lbs will happen.  This week I’m writing my goals down so that they are visible to me on my phone background and in my house.

Things to remember about setting goals:

Don’t get discouraged if you have a day that wasn’t all you had hoped for.  Simply try and do better tomorrow.  I have one friend who is constantly saying “I’ll start over on Monday”.  I don’t know what’s so magical about Monday, but that’s ridiculous.  Start over right now.

Make your goals realistic for you.  When I first started out my goals were to get in a 30 minute workout 3 times a week.  Sometimes I didn’t do anything strenuous at all, but I made sure I was there for 30 minutes.  It helped me develop the habit of being in the gym.

Last week’s goals are a starting point for this week’s goals.  Experts suggest only increasing your weekly mileage by 10% max in order to safely progress into a running program.  Add time to your workout, even if it’s only 5 minutes, add intensity bursts, increase the weigh, reps, or sets of your weight training.  The point is, make this week harder than last week, but keep it realistic.  If you go too far too fast you’ll only get sore, worn out, and discouraged.

Weigh yourself, take your measurements, and for goodness sake, track your calories!  I hope you all will take some time to think about where you ultimately want to be and take small, daily steps towards reaching those goals. Have a wonderful week!

Monthly Goals are still:

  • Lose 5lbs
  • Finish 5K Distance

Goals for this week:

  • Three two-mile runs
  • Average under 13 minutes/mile
  • Eat Vegan
  • Finish week 3 of arms workout

Maybe Vegan won’t be all that bad after all

Menu Plan:

Breakfast: Steel Cut Oats with Fruit, Smoothies, Scrambled Tofu

Lunch: Spaghetti Squash, Sweet Potato chili, Leek, Potato, and Lentil Soup

Dinner: Spicy Couscous, Falafel Wrap, Nutrisystem leftovers

Snacks: Fresh vegs, Fruit/Celery with PB, Smoothie, Grapes, Watermelon

 

2 Responses to “What are your goals?”

  1. Dan August 12, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    If you’d like a tool for setting your goals, you can use this web application:

    http://www.Gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, and a calendar.
    Syncs with Evernote and Google Calendar, and also comes with mobile version, and Android and iPhone apps.

    • gshipman August 13, 2012 at 8:17 am #

      That’s great, thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

