Uphill struggles bring downhill bliss

23 Jul

I love running down hill.  I’m going at a fast pace, wind in my hair, I can feel for that brief moment that I have done it.  I have accomplished my goals.  I’m a runner.  Then I hit flat surface, or even worse, a hill, and that all goes away.  But for that short time I can feel it.  That being said, here’s my run for today.  Same course as last week except I ran it backwards and I went on a short out and back side trail to make it a little longer:

 

As for my diet today…well…let’s not talk about that.  Truth is, I don’t really know what I have eaten today.  I didn’t really have any meals, I just mindlessly snacked and any attempt at trying to remember what I had and in the correct portions would be feeble.  Let’s just say it was a failure.  Instead I will share with you my favorite pre-workout snack:

Energy Bites!

I’m sure you’ve seen these little morsels of goodness around the internet. They are very yum and filling.  Two little bites pre-workout and I’m good to go.  That’s important for me because of my schedule. Here’s my daily:

7am: Wake up ( try my best to shoot for 6 but in reality, I don’t roll out of bed til 7 most days)

8:15am: Arrive at work and have breakfast

10am-ish: Sneak to the back for a morning snack when I can

1pm: Finish up paperwork and then I can leave for the gym (I like to have a little bite of something while I finish up paperwork)

1:15ish-2:30: Workout time

3pm: Lunch time

6ish: Evening snack, usually a protein shake

7pm: off work

Dinner around 8-9pm.

I wouldn’t say this is ideal for nutritional excellence, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles.  I’m glad I have a mid-day time to workout, it keeps me on track. I’m not a morning person and in the evening it’s easier to make excuses. So that’s that!

Here is my recipe for energy bites:

1cup steel cut oats

1/2 cup flax meal ( ground flax seeds)

1/2raw  unsalted sunflower seeds

1/2 raw unsalted pepitas (pumpkin seeds)

1/2 cup raisins

1 cup unsweet coconut

a dash of cinnamon and ground ginger

1 TBSP Organic, local honey*

1/2 cup raw peanut butter

1TBSP cacao nibs (what i had left in the pantry)

1 tsp vanilla

*A note about honey: without getting into the long story about honey off the shelf, I will just say, if you’re going to use it, use organic local honey.  It’s got great enzymes, and helps with allergies as well whereas honey off the shelf is just pure sugar and nothing else.  If you don’t have access to local organic use something else like agave nectar or a little liquid stevia.

Heat a pan until very hot.  Add oats and toast until fragrant.

Put sunflower seeds, pepitas, raisins, coconut, nibs in a food processor and pulse until it’s all about the same size.  Combine with oats, flax meal, cinnamon and ginger and toss.  Add vanilla, honey and peanut butter and mix.  The mixture should be firm enough to roll into balls and not fall apart.  If it’s falling apart add a little more PB. If it’s too wet and is sticking to your fingers and forming balls that flaten out when you lie them down add a little more oats or coconut.  Roll into balls that are about an inch or so in diameter.  Place balls onto a cookie sheet so that they are not touching or barely touching.  Freeze until solid.  After frozen you can put them in a ziplock and enjoy! Makes 25-30 bites, depending on the size you make them (and how much of it you eat while you’re making it).

Leave a Reply

