My Fitness Pal

10 Jul

I want to tell you about My Fitness Pal (www.myfitnesspal.com). It’s a mobile app (and website, obviously) that allows you to track your food habits.  I have used a number of apps over the past year to try to find something user friendly that I will actually have the discipline to use.  I like My Fitness Pal because it has all the foods.  I have never come across something it didn’t have.  If you go out to a major restaurant you can even enter the name of the meal as it’s written on the menu and it’ll come up.  If you eat something with a bar code, just scan the bar code.  Easy cheesy.  Also it shows you  target goals for each category, how close you are (or how far over) you are, and a weekly, monthly, and 90 day summary if you request it.  The only, and I mean only thing I don’t like is that it doesn’t take any calories off for weight training.  I know I burn calories when I pump all this iron, I want to see it count, dang it!  Anyway, everything else is so great I overlook that small piece.  You can also follow your friends on there and use it as a way to motivate and encourage each other.  I also like the daily nutrient summary, check it out below.  The only two things out of screen shot are calcium and Iron.

Calorie Summary today. Not my best work! I like how it clearly shows you where you’re flubbing up.

3 Responses to “My Fitness Pal”

  1. coachcrystalspadawan July 11, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    I love myfitnesspal… If you put weightlifting under “cardiovascular” instead of “strength,” you get some credit for burning calories… its weird, I know.

    • gshipman July 11, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

      Awesome, thanks for the tip!

  2. Eric October 29, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    Great App, I use it and recommend it for my clients.

Leave a Reply

