Quote

Motivation is what gets y…

8 Jul

Motivation is what gets you started, Habit is what keeps you going.

Today is goal-setting day.  I haven’t previously thought about this, and truly hadn’t even thought about the blog until I did it yesterday so this could change as time goes by.  My long term goals are pretty simple so we’ll start there:

  • 180lbs
  • Pants size 12

Because I’m pear-shaped, it’s pretty easy for me to drop dress sizes, pants sizes are more difficult to drop.  Also, because I have been down to 202 before, it won’t really feel like I’m losing weight until I get down below that number.  Just a mental barrier I suppose.

Workouts:  My short term goals I will track monthly, but I will list workout plans by the week to keep the posts manageable.

Month 1: July 8-August 4

Goals:

  • Be able to run 5K straight through (don’t care how slow, just finish it)
  • 4lb weight loss. (let’s start out simple, this isn’t the biggest loser)

Week 1 Workouts:  Week one goal is to finish.  That’s it, just finish.  We are creating habits here.

July 8 (Sunday): 7am jog outdoors.  I want to see how far I can go and how fast.

July 9(Monday): Weight training: Upper

It’s no longer Thursday, but a workout I have done before.

July 10:(Tuesday) Treadmill Run: 5K walk/jog

July 11: (Wednesday) Weight training: lower

 

July 12: (Thursday) Treadmill Run 30 minutes. 3min walk @4.0, 2 min run at 5.5

July 13: (Friday) Cross training day: Full body workout

Mountain Climbers, Pushups, Squats, Push press, Lunges, Plank. To keep it easy I do 50 of each.

July 14: (Saturday) Active rest day. I should do something other than lie on the couch all day, but no structured workout is planned.

Nutrition: I am currently on Nutrisystem so we will stick with  that for now.  It’s a 1200 calorie diet with low glycemic index foods.  It’s affordable, and the food is actually good, but I kind of feel like I could do it myself if I just put enough time into it.  I also use My Fitness Pal to track my daily nutrient intake, which I highly recommend.  I will probably post my weekly values if I can figure out how to do that.

Off we go!

2 Responses to “Motivation is what gets y…”

  1. Shannon July 8, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    Can I join you Monday? 🙂

    • gshipman July 8, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

      You can, but I won’t be held responsible for it when your arms fall off mid-shift!

Leave a Reply

