Starting out: Do what you know

7 Jul

To let you know where I am in my fitness journey, we need to go back a few years.

Where I grew up, we didn’t eat healthy. It was a poor, low-income area, and those aren’t known for their healthy eating habits.  Everything was fried, covered in gravy, and in portions that will blow your mind.  No one worked out unless you played a sport, and guess what?  I was a choir nerd.  I had no reference point for what healthy was.  The people in my family were naturally thin, and I was the only “big girl” around.  Excuses were given to me by people who didn’t take their own advice.  “You eat too much” (I eat the same amount as you and you’re thin), “You eat too unhealthy” (I eat what you buy and keep in the kitchen), “You don’t exercise” (I follow your example).  I can’t really remember how much I weighed when I left high school, but it was around 250.

I left my hometown for college in 2003 and ended up with a major that had to do with health and fitness.  I was starting to get information that I had never received before mostly about exercise.  Just by leaving home and eating cafeteria food vs. home food, I dropped 20lbs.  As undergrad progressed I started working out and lost another 10lbs before I graduated.  I was by no means living a healthy lifestyle, I was still a college kid, but I left college at 220lbs with a much better understanding of how to be healthy.  In 2007 I moved to Atlanta, GA for grad school.  I lived and worked with athletes.  I had amazing opportunities to work with professional sports, nutritionists, physical therapists, and other healthcare professionals while pursuing my masters in sports medicine.  I picked up running as a cheap, easy, form of exercise.  I worked my way up to running 3 miles about three times a week and dropped down to my lowest weight: 202lbs.  I was eating off the dollar menu at McDonalds (I was also more broke that I have ever been in my life!) and still managed to get to my lowest weight ever.  Unfortunately, I started having ankle pain and experienced a bad break up.  I started pursuing other forms of exercise that would be less impact on my ankle such as biking and elliptical trainer, and I started eating more and more to deal with the emotial pain of the break up.  I gained 40lbs over the course of 2 years.  I was never able to get over the pain in my ankle and in November of 2010 had ankle surgery for a bone spur, damaged cartilage, loose body, and damaged ligaments.  After 6 months or so of physical therapy, I started getting serious about my weightloss again in June 2011.

Since then I have listened to countless trainers, nutritionists, consultants, and so-called professionals on what I should do and what is the best work out for me.  I have done heavy weight training and gotten stronger, I have done interval training and gotten faster, I have done light weight, heavy reps, and lost inches, but I have NOT lost weight.  In fact, I got up to 248 this past year, the heaviest I have been in 8 years.  It’s time that I do what I know works for my body, and that’s running.  Here I am going to document my journey back into running.  It’s going to be long, it’s going to be painful, but I know that running helps me lose weight, and that’s my goal.  Please join me in my ups and downs, let me hear your stories, advice, encouragement, and see where this road takes me!

Starting Point: 240lbs

Measurements: (I took these on myself, but they are pretty much accurate)

Bust: 41.5″

Waist: 37.25″

Hip: 50″

Arm: 16″

Thigh: 29″

Calf: 17″

Kind of blurry, but you get the idea.

No bueno, time for some changes

9 Responses to “Starting out: Do what you know”

  1. transformationpics July 7, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    Best wishes on your journey!

  2. Kari July 7, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    Good luck on your journey! looking forward to seeing you kick butt! 😀

  3. oldentimes July 7, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    Girl, I know you can do it! I am right here rooting for you.

  4. Chad July 8, 2012 at 1:05 am #

    Good luck!!!!! Running is so good for my mind as well as my body. I’m glad you’re getting back into it.

  5. Shannon July 8, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    Woot! Woot! I’m counting on you to inspire me, G!! (No pressure!) 🙂
    Happy running! Get it!

  6. Cara July 8, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    Good Luck, Gina! I understand the frustration that comes along with a injury that sets you back. It is awesome you’re getting started again!

  7. uberbeastmode July 18, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    Go get it! It makes me sad that so few children are brought up with an understand of the importance of health. Good for you for getting there on your own!

    • gshipman July 18, 2012 at 1:35 am #

      Thanks so much, I think it’s sad too, but all we can do is change ourselves!

      • uberbeastmode July 18, 2012 at 2:10 am #

        You got that right!

Leave a Reply

