Updates and new plans.

24 Jul

 

Hey Strangers!

 

I’ve been gone a long time. Long story short, I’ve been injured. First the knee, then the plantar fasciitis that just would not go away. I think I’m on the upswing now if I don’t mess it up. The rough timeline has been April 7th-May 17th rehabilitation for knee; 3-4 weeks progressing back into activity with onset of Plantar fasciitis.  Now I’ve been dealing with that for 6-8 weeks. I’m frankly shocked about how debilitating this has been. I have been treating myself:

 

  • physical therapy: massage, stretching, ROM exercises, and ankle/LE strengthening
  • modalities: Ultrasound, Phonophoresis, Iontophoresis
  • occasional week of oral NSAIDS when it gets bad
  • modifications in footwear
  • No WB exercise :(

 

Finally I found Orthaheel brand loafers for work. Mine are part of the Dr. Andrew Weil line of shoes specifically designed for plantar fasciitis. Dr. Weil is considered the father of integrated medicine, which combines traditional and holistic approaches to managing wellness. I have read a number of his books and followed his health advice for a long time. When I found a line of shoes he backed I knew they would be worth it.

 

Evolution Casual FlatBalance and alignment, from the ground up

 

Additionally, I have been fitted for custom orthotics that I will put in my running shoes to prevent problems in the future.  I was fitted through my podiatrist. These are expensive, and if you’re going to get them, go through a medical professional, not some shoe store. Stores like Foot Solutions have good shoe selections but they are not trained well enough to fit custom orthotics. That doesn’t keep them from trying!

 

I’ve been trying to focus on my diet to at least maintain my weight. I have been on the world’s most frustrating plateau of 220lbs since January. I can not break through! Well, after about 6 weeks of clean eating capped off with 2 weeks of soup diet, I finally lost 4 lbs. I’ll take it. Here’s the progress compared to where I was from the start and at last count:

 

7/7/2012 11/29/2012 Today
Weight 240 lbs. 222 lbs. 216 lbs.
Bust 41.5″ 40″ 39″
Waist 37.25″ 34″ 34″
Hip 50″ 48.5″ 48″
Arm 16″ 15.5″ 15″
Thigh 29″ 27″ 25.5″

 

Now that my foot tenderness is nearly subsided I’m going to start an extremely slow progression back into activity. Today’s plan, which is pretty simple:

 

Bike and SB workout

 

  • 10 minutes biking
  • 10 each: SB crunches
  • SB Bridges
  • SB curls
  • SB half pike
  • SB push up
  • SB Rollout
  • Stretch: Ham, Quad, ITB, HF, and Foam roll ITB
  • 10 minute bike

 

I really wanted to be down to 200 by July 7th of this year because that was the “anniversary date” of my progress. I have to say I’m not as disappointed in myself as I thought I would be. I have learned a lot this year about myself and my body. I found out I can run 7 miles and finish a half marathon. I’ve learned how injury feels and that has made me a better therapist.  I have learned leaps and bounds about gait, gait analysis, and treatment of gait dysfunction. I have been able to treat and educate my patients better this year than I have in the past. And for all of that, I’m proud of myself. The list I keep for myself:

 

  • I lost 32 lbs
  • I lost 12.25 inches
  • I finished a half marathon.

 

What’s next? By this time next year:

 

  • 180lbs
  • Running 10K with a 10 minute mile average
  • Strength training at least 2x/week
  • Back on a routine for workouts

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Updates and new plans.”

  1. Colleen July 24, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    you go girl! great progress (and learning!) – will need to take a look at those shoes as I’ve had bouts with PF as well … can’t believe how much it affects everything you do!!

  2. Jenny July 25, 2013 at 10:09 am #

    I agree with the last poster – I haven’t heard about these shoes but it is great to learn about! thanks! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

