On the next Vegan Master Chef…

1 Jul

Maybe I have been watching too much tv, but I felt a bit like a master chef yesterday. I am doing a soup cleanse this week. I made 4 soups yesterday and they are all phenomenal. I’ll share the green monster with you today.

1 bunch kale
1 bunch spinach
1 large or 2 med (about 1 1/4 lbs) sweet potato
1 onion
2-4 garlic cloves
1 tsp fresh thyme
8 fresh sage leaves
2 cups water
2 cups broth

Saute onion in 1T olive oil 5 min. Turn to low and add garlic and thyme. Stir occasionally for about 20 min until onion caramelizes.

Meanwhile, peel and cube sweet potato, remove ribs of kale. Add to a pot with 2 c water, sage and 1/2 tsp salt (optional). Boil 10 min. Add spinach and and onion mix and cook another 10 min.

Use an emersion blender or puree in blender/food processor until smooth. Top with a squeeze of lemon if desired and serve hot.

I honestly didn’t think this would be good, but yall, it’s amazing! When doing a cleanse of any type it’s important to drink plenty of fluids and use organic ingredients as they are less contaminated with toxins. I got 26 organic, whole food items for $50 so no lame excuses, just do it!

One Response to “On the next Vegan Master Chef…”

  1. Christina July 1, 2013 at 11:36 pm #

    Soups are always so great. I swear I can throw any vegetable I have into a pot, add in some herbs/seasonings, and I always get a great soup :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

