Doctor Visit

13 Apr

I decided I needed professional help for my knee pain. All I really wanted was an X-ray. I didn’t get one. He agreed with me that it’s IT Band Syndrome (yay for my diagnosing skills) and that I just need to continue treatment for a lot longer. 5 weeks, in fact. If I am still having problems 4 weeks in he’ll give me an MRI. I’m not pleased with this prognosis. 5 weeks seems like a lifetime. At any rate, here’s the workout plan:

Saturday, Tuesday, Friday
Arms:
Pushups
Low Row
Bicep Curls
Tricep Ext
Dips
Push Press

Sunday, Wesnesday: Gentle Yoga

Monday, Wednesday: Bike up to an hour, as tolerated.

Everyday I am doing rehabilitation exercises. Every other day I will Ultrasound with an antiinflammatory medication, and do an Iontophoresis treatment with a steroid medication. He gave me a presceiption antiinflammatory, but I usually can’t tolerate those.

I am going to.focus more on.my calorie count and try to continue to lose weight. I have been eating a lot lately. Time to get it under control!

I will also try to get a massage when I can afford it, but funds are low lately. I have a few family trips to budget for, a new computer, and pay taxes. Oy.

4 Responses to “Doctor Visit”

  1. Jenny April 13, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    ugh! so sorry you aren’t able to get your run on! Good luck with the treatment and get feeling better!!!

  2. shannon April 14, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    If only you knew a massage therapist….hmmm….

    • gshipman April 15, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

      Haha, I know! Hmmm…. To be honest, I need to get some stretching and foam rolling under my belt before I let a professional get ahold of me! (especially you!)

      • shannon April 20, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

        Yes, that might be wise, I guess. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

